Remembering Matthew Shepard —2021

Remembering Matthew Shepard is adapted from the music composed for a 2001 production of “The Laramie Project” by Philadelphia Theatre Company.

The play is a portrait of a town forced to confront itself after the 1998 murder of gay University of Wyoming student Matthew Shepard in Laramie, Wyoming. It is constructed from interviews with Laramie’s citizens—their words and deeds reveal both terrifying darkness and life-affirming compassion. The music consists of six parts, separated by brief pauses:
Part I: journal entries
Part II: finding Matthew Shepard
Part III: medical update
Part IV: the Word and the jury
Part V: candle vigil and the fence
Part VI: the day of the funeral, snow

Instrumentation: 1 Piccolo, 4 C Flutes, 2 Alto Flutes, 2 Bass Flutes, 1 Contrabass Flute