Puryear Studies —2017

PURYEAR STUDIES is a set of five pieces composed in response to prints by American artist Martin Puryear.
The collection of pieces reflect different approaches to composition, form and content that I see in Puryear’s prints. Commissioned by Network for New Music, PURYEAR STUDIES was premiered by cellist John Koen, for whom it was written.

PURYEAR STUDIES for solo cello

1. prelude
2. nine eight
3. chaconne
4. isorhythm
5. passacaglia